AWC-SB Women of Achievement Awards

presented by Women Connect4Good

Every year the Santa Barbara chapter of the Association for Women in Communications honors two exceptional women who use their talents as communicators to improve our community. This inspirational event brings together prominent leaders in our community in a celebration of empowered women communicators.

Vision, Voice, Advocacy for a New Generation

Click here to watch the awards show & read coverage 


Friday, April 30, 2021

AWC-SB honors Barbara Ben-Horin, former CEO of Girls Inc. of Greater Santa Barbara, and Luz Reyes-Martin, Executive Director of Public Affairs and Communications at Santa Barbara City College at the 2020(21) Women of Achievement luncheon presented by Women Connect4Good. The honorees will receive their awards on Friday, April 30, 2021.


Register for this Free Event HERE


Click here to read more about 2021 Honorees


Women of Achievement Event Testimonials



“Congrats on a fabulous event. People didn’t want to leave, the vibe was so positive and uplifting.” – Cathy Murillo, Mayor, City of Santa Barbara

“The Association for Women in Communications, Santa Barbara Chapter uses the Women of Achievement Awards to salute women who are exceptional communicators and have used their gifts to inspire and empower other women. Montecito Bank and Trust is proud to sponsor an organization that supports professional development for women in our community.”

“As a global leadership educator, Fielding Graduate University recognizes the Association for Women in Communication as a network of vibrant leaders with their fingers on the pulse of the community. We value our relationship with the AWC because our missions have much in common: We both strive to make the complex clear, to explore connections and to never stop learning about our world.”

“AWC is an organization that brings smart amazing women together to share and connect their businesses. You put 4 or 5 women in any room and watch them work and bring any project or mission to life. Women need the support of other women. This organization does just that. The rule of the day is ‘be a mentor and get a mentor’. That’s how it works. We learn we grow we share and we succeed. That’s what AWC does for its members and much, much more.” – Dr. Nancy O’Reilly, PsyD, Founder of WomenConnect4Good

Check out the highlights from the 2018 Women of Achievement Awards

Women of Achievement Past Recipients

~ 2019 ~

“Making a Difference With Stories that Matter”
KEYT Journalist and Anchor Beth Farnsworth
Strategic Samurai Kymberlee Weil

~ 2018 ~

“Courageous Communicators”
State Senator Hannah-Beth Jackson
Dr. Carrie Hutchinson, Chair of the Communication Department SBCC

~ 2017 ~

“Inspirational Women Leaders: Communication, Empowerment, Outcomes”
Helene Schneider, Former Mayor, Santa Barbara
Patty DeDominic, Founder, International Women’s Festival

~ 2016 ~

“Women Stand Up, Speak Out”
Lois Capps, Former Congresswoman
Dr. Lois Phillips, Communications Consultant and Founder AWC-SB

~ 2015 ~

“Pioneers for Change: Communication, Community, Choice”
Sigrid Wright, Director, Earth Day Festival
Marilyn Tam, Author, The Happiness Choice

~ 2014 ~

“Giving Voice: Leadership, Education, Community”
Nancy Leffert, President. Antioch University
Marianne Partridge, Editor in Chief, Santa Barbara Independent

~ 2013 ~

“Money Matters: Journalism, Justice, and Empowerment”
Kathleen Sharp, Author, Blood Medicine
Marsha Bailey, Founder and CEO, Women’s Economic Ventures

~ 2012 ~

“From Breaking News to Awakening the Muse” Perie Longo, SB Poet Laureate Emerita
Paula Lopez, Television journalist

~ 2011 ~

“From Ink to Internet: Honoring Visionaries in Communication”
Lynda Weinman, Founder,
Starshine Roshell, Syndicated columnist

~ 2010 ~

“Writing Truth, Empowering Women”
Sarah Miller McCune, Publisher, Sage Communications
Marcia Meier, Author and Director, SB Writers Conference

~ 2009 ~

“Championing Leaders, Building Relationships, Recognizing Excellence”
Catherine Remak, Radio host
Ann Louise Bardach, Journalist

~ 2008 ~

Producer Deborah Hutchinson
and reporters at the Santa Barbara News Press including Jane Hulse, Melinda Burns,
Dawn Hobbs, Melissa Evans, and Anna Davison



In the News


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *