Register Now: AWC-SB Women of Achievement Awards


14th Annual

AWC-SB Women of Achievement Awards

Presented by

Every year the Santa Barbara chapter of the Association for Women in Communications honors exceptional women who use their talents as communicators to improve our community. In 2022, the chapter will honor a unique team of six resilient and courageous communicators during the annual, inspirational event that brings together prominent leaders in our community in a celebration of empowered women communicators.

Click here to register FOR THIS EVENT

Navigating Uncharted Waters

This year’s noteworthy honorees, all representing the County of Santa Barbara, epitomize this year’s theme—Navigating Uncharted Waters—as they’ve shared information and helped steer community response through months of unprecedented crises. 

Gina DePinto—Communications Manager

Van Do-Reynoso—MPH, PhD, Director of Public Health

Suzanne Grimmesey—MFT Public Information Officer/Chief Quality Care and Strategy Officer, Department of Behavioral Wellness

Mona Miyasato—County Executive Officer 

Terri Nisich—Assistant County Executive Officer

Jackie Ruiz—MPH, Public Information Officer and Health Care Program Coordinator, Public Health

with Emcee Paula Lopez

Friday, April 29, 2022

11:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m.

Cabrillo Pavilion

1118 E. Cabrillo Blvd., Santa Barbara, CA 93103

Registration will open on February 1, 2022


Click here to browse Sponsorship Opportunities
Click here to register
2022 Women of Achievement Awards Planning Committee
2022 WOA Planning Committee
(L-R) Lauren Bianchi Klemann, Christina Favuzzi, Hannah Sullivan, Jade Martinez-Pogue, Hillary Blackerby, Lysa Urban

Women of Achievement Past Recipients

~ 2020-21 ~

“Vision, Voice, and Advocacy for a New Generation” Girls Inc. of Greater Santa Barbara Barbara Ben-Horin Santa Barbara City College & Santa Barbara Women’s Political Committee Luz Reyes-Martin

~ 2019 ~

“Making a Difference With Stories that Matter” KEYT Journalist and Anchor Beth Farnsworth Strategic Samurai Kymberlee Weil

~ 2018 ~

“Courageous Communicators” State Senator Hannah-Beth Jackson Dr. Carrie Hutchinson, Chair of the Communication Department SBCC

~ 2017 ~

“Inspirational Women Leaders: Communication, Empowerment, Outcomes” Helene Schneider, Former Mayor, Santa Barbara Patty DeDominic, Founder, International Women’s Festival

~ 2016 ~

“Women Stand Up, Speak Out” Lois Capps, Former Congresswoman Dr. Lois Phillips, Communications Consultant and Founder AWC-SB

~ 2015 ~

“Pioneers for Change: Communication, Community, Choice” Sigrid Wright, Director, Earth Day Festival Marilyn Tam, Author, The Happiness Choice

~ 2014 ~

“Giving Voice: Leadership, Education, Community” Nancy Leffert, President. Antioch University Marianne Partridge, Editor in Chief, Santa Barbara Independent

~ 2013 ~

“Money Matters: Journalism, Justice, and Empowerment” Kathleen Sharp, Author, Blood Medicine Marsha Bailey, Founder and CEO, Women’s Economic Ventures

~ 2012 ~

“From Breaking News to Awakening the Muse” Perie Longo, SB Poet Laureate Emerita Paula Lopez, Television journalist

~ 2011 ~

“From Ink to Internet: Honoring Visionaries in Communication” Lynda Weinman, Founder, Starshine Roshell, Syndicated columnist

~ 2010 ~

“Writing Truth, Empowering Women” Sarah Miller McCune, Publisher, Sage Communications Marcia Meier, Author and Director, SB Writers Conference

~ 2009 ~

“Championing Leaders, Building Relationships, Recognizing Excellence” Catherine Remak, Radio host Ann Louise Bardach, Journalist

~ 2008 ~

Producer Deborah Hutchinson and reporters at the Santa Barbara News Press including Jane Hulse, Melinda Burns, Dawn Hobbs, Melissa Evans, and Anna Davison



In the News

Scroll to Top